Awards History

MSSNY Awards  

Albion O. Bernstein Award
The late Morris J. Bernstein established this national award in 1962, in memory of his son, a physician who died while on a hospital call in 1940 in New York City. This award is presented to either “a physician or scientist, who, in the opinion of the Awards Committee of the Medical Society of the State of New York shall have made the most widely beneficial discovery or developed the most useful method in medicine, surgery or the prevention of disease.” 

The award includes $2000 and a scroll.  The deadline for nominations has traditionally been January, and the award was traditionally given at the HOD, but this may have changed. (LLA 10/22/2010) 
List of Previous Bernstein Award Winners  

Henry I. Fineberg Award
In 1980, MSSNY established the Henry I. Fineberg Award for Distinguished Service to MSSNY, to honor Dr. Henry Irwin Fineberg, for his many years of service to the society. Dr. Fineberg served as MSSNY Executive Vice-President from 1961 to 1982, and had served as president from 1959 to 1960. In 1974 and 1975, Dr. Fineberg saw the Society through its first modern liability insurance crisis, and helped found the physician-owned MLMIC. Dr. Fineberg died in 1987. 

President’s Citizenship Award
The President’s Citizenship Award was created in 1961 and originally named the President’s Citation. This award is presented to a physician who engages in long-term pro bono community service beyond the responsibilities related medical practice.  Presentation of the award helps public attention to the good works carried out by physicians throughout the state. 

Young at Heart Award
The Young at Heart Award was established in 1994 by the Young Physician Section to honor MSSNY leaders who have given special support and guidance to young physicians during the formative years of the Young Physician Section, and to show the Section’s appreciation of the efforts made on its behalf.  

The Charles D. Sherman Award – for support of medical students  

Student Membership Award
The Student Membership Award, first presented in 1992, recognizes outstanding efforts in membership recruitment for the Medical Student Section. The award is presented annually to the student responsible for the largest percentage increase in medical student membership at his or her school.